I survived!

Yep, that’s right! I survived my first whole term back teaching full time! It feels like a massive achievement proving to myself that I can be a mum and still maintain my career.

However, that doesn’t mean that it has been easy. The Spring term is always crazy but this one seems to have been more nuts than ever for a variety of reasons;

1. I didn’t get the easy timetable I had hoped for. I smugly thought I would get away with taking back the small GCSE group I had left. Unfortunately, another member of staff left suddenly at Christmas leaving me with his two Yr 11 classes: that meant 64 students instead of 10!

2) Progress review evening followed by another followed by another!

3) Mock exam season. 1 language paper x 1 literature paper x 64 students… Yeah, you catch my drift!

4) And the day they were finally marked, we get the 24hr OFSTED notice. Argh! Thankfully they came and went with minimum stress 🙂

5) This last half term was a 7 seeker – the most dreaded length for all teachers! Exhausted.com!

So, needless to say, I am so ready for this Easter!

However, most people still seem surprised at my decision to return full time and also keep on my responsibility as KS3 English Leader; for me, it has worked and I feel I have had the most successful term I could have hoped for.

If you’re in this situation, please know that it is your decision and yours alone. Ignore what others say and do what is best for you and your family. For me, these are some of the things that have helped;

1) Finding a good nursery. In fact we have an outstanding nursery! I have never felt bad leaving Ted there as he loves it so much. This certainly eases my mum guilt!

2) Sending Ted to nursery for longer. He attends 8-5.30 which means he gets all his meals there. I am then able to do all my work at school and, when we get home, it is purely playtime and weekends are completely free of work! Much better than rushing and stressing over marking and making tea!

3) Putting your foot down. I only do what I am willing to do and I refuse to be told otherwise. Saying no is so important now that my priorities have changed.

I still love my job and still aim to be a Head of Department; having a baby hasn’t changed that. But it is certainly a relief to prove that i an still in track!

Leave a Reply

